Skip to main content

High Museum of Art Power Users: Databases

High Museum of Art and the Emory University Libraries have a MOA that allows several HMA staff to have access to Emory resources for their research needs.

CHANGE - New Emory policy

Your remote access to electronic library databases will end on July 18, 2016.  Nothing else will change.  You can still use the same username/password to request books and inter-library loan material. 

Emory University, like many of our research university peers, has implemented a Library Licensed Electronic Resources Conditions of Use Policy http://policies.emory.edu/5.22  which only allows current Emory students, faculty, and staff to access electronic databases remotely.   This restriction is a protective measure to minimize risk for the University. 

  • Walk-in use for library databases will still available after July 18th. All High museum of staff can use the databases at the Woodruff Library (sign-in at reference desk)
  • Kim Collins remain your subject librarian – please contact her whenever you need a research consultation. 

Sources to Find Academic Articles

  • Search one of the library's 400+ databases
  • Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a list of databases.
  • Search Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

For more information, see Find Articles at Woodruff Library guide.

Searching For Articles In discoverE

In discoverE you can search some of our databases for articles.

When you first open discoverE, it defaults to using the Catalog tab. You should choose the Combined tab, which is the third from the left:

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Use discoverE's 'Refine Search Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search to articles and by topic, author, and date.
  3. Click on the "Full Text Available' link if there is one. You should also click on the "No Full Text" links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.
  4. If it's not available online, follow these directions.

Full Text Databases

Indexes and Bibliographic Databases- YOU NOW MUST USE THESE DATABASES AT THE WOODRUFF LIBRARY - remote access is not possible

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Scholarly Journals and Evaluating Resources

Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Here are tips on locating scholarly journal articles and evaluating sources.

Research Guides

Emory Account Information

Use your Emory net id and password for all Emory systems

Forgot your net id? Ask Frances Francis or Kim Collins. 

Forgot your password?  Ask Kim for an e-pin to call the (404)727-7777 help desk for reset.

Subject Guide

Google Scholar

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322