Skip to main content
Banner Image

British and Irish Literature: Home

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Collections Related to British and Irish Literature

This guide identifies collections related to British and Irish literature. The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) of Emory University has extensive book and manuscript holdings documenting the Irish literary revival and 20th century British and Irish poetry. MARBL’s Irish literary revival collections are strong in manuscripts and books related to W.B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, Maud Gonne, and others of their circle. Within the broad field of 20th century poetry, the library has special strength in the literary archives of the Belfast Group poets (Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, Michael Longley, among others), poets from the Republic of Ireland, and post-World War II British poets, most notably Ted Hughes. The library also holds the publisher’s archive of the Gallery Press, which includes correspondence and manuscript materials related to a broad array of contemporary Irish poets and playwrights.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. In addition to browsing these entries, you may wish to search our catalogs.

To supplement this guide, you may wish to search our catalogs to locate additional materials:

 

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

 

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Contact Information

Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322