Skip to main content

British and Irish Literature: British Fiction

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Manuscript Collections

Greene, Graham. (MSS 788). Collection, 1962-1968; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

The Graham Greene Collection includes an extensive collection of Victorian Detective Fiction, which can be found through the library catalog DiscoverE. The manuscript collection includes letters about the detective fiction primarily related to his purchasing of the collection and the publication of the catalog, Victorian Detective Fiction: A Catalogue of the Collection Made by Dorothy Glover and Graham Greene. For more information about the books, see the "Book Collections" tab within this guide.

 

Greene, Sir Hugh. (MSS 750). Collection, 1921-1977; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

This collection is related to Sir Hugh Greene's (1910-1987) research on popular detective fiction. It includes correspondence relating to his book collecting activities and to his plans for an anthology of stories entitled "The Colonial Rivals of Sherlock Holmes" (never completed). The collection also includes seven letters written by the mystery writer William Le Queux (ca. 1921). Sir Greene's personal library of detective fiction is housed separately in the library. For more information about the books, see the description of collections at the end of this guide.

 

Patmore, Derek. (MSS 645). Papers, 1928-1968; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes).

These papers include literary works (1945-1968) consisting of many unpublished works by Derek Patmore; the typescript for his mother Briget Patmore's memoirs, with Derek Patmore's introduction; and a notebook containing copies of unpublished letters from H.G. Wells to Odett Keum, compiled by Briget Patmore. The papers also include correspondence between Derek Patmore and Briget Patmore (1945-1963); and pictures (1928-1937) consisting of sketches and photographs of such notables as Richard Aldington, H.G. Wells, Violet Hunt, Sir Osbert Sitwell, and various family members.

 

Pritchett, V. S. (Victor, Sawdon). (MSS 1012). Collection, 1979-1982; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

The collection contains material that concerns an interview of V.S. Pritchett conducted in 1979 by Robert W. Smith, a journalist with the Washington Post. The collection includes correspondence between V.S. Pritchett and Robert W. Smith concerning travel arrangements and other practical matters, an annotated copy of the interview transcript, a newspaper clipping of a review of On the Edge of the Cliff, and an unsigned photocopy of an illustration of Pritchett.

 

Rushdie, Salmon. (MSS 1000). Papers, 1947-2006; 97 linear ft. (211 boxes, 55 oversized papers).

The papers document Rushdie's entire professional career, beginning with the publication of his first novel in 1975 through his most recent writings, and demonstrate the wide range of his literary endeavors, as novelist, essayist, travel writer, political commentator, defender of free speech, and literary critic. The papers include journals, appointment books, and notebooks; writings by Rushdie, specifically manuscripts and typescripts of his fiction, nonfiction, scripts and other writings; writings by others about Rushdie in addition to writings by other that concern other subjects; correspondence, portions of Rushdie's personal papers, subject files which primarily contain material related to various organizations with which Rushdie was affiliated such as Article 19 and PEN American Center; publicity and public event photographs and other general photographs; printed material by and about Rushdie and other general collected printed material; memorabilia related to Rushdie, such as buttons, banners, and other objects; and audiovisual material, such as audio and video recordings of interviews, public appearances and other media events. Of particulate note in the collection is the digital material from four of Rushdie's computers in addition to a hard drive. The files currently available to researchers are from one of his earlier computers, a Macintosh Performa 5400; they date from 1992-2002, and consists of notes and drafts of Rushdie's writings and selected correspondence. Of particular interest is a small cache of email correspondence, representing Rushdie's first foray into this emerging form of communication in the late 1990s.

 

Stanford, Derek. (MSS 996).  Collection, 1938-1979; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes).

The personal and literary papers of Derek Stanford include correspondence, literary notebooks, literary manuscripts and typescripts, and collected printed material. Of particular note are manuscripts and background materials for The Weather Within and Time is a Place.

 

Tennant, Emma. (MSS 913). Papers, 1973-1998; .5 linear ft. (1 box).

The collection contains items related to Ted Hughes’s relationship in the 1970s with Emma Christina Tennant (1937- ), a novelist, critic, and editor. The materials include a few pieces of correspondence from Hughes to Tennant during the 1970s and a brief note in 1998. There are also three drafts of The Notting Hill Diaries, later renamed the Burnt Diaries, and published in 1999, an autobiographical account of Tennant’s affair with Hughes. The drafts are mostly typescript copies with handwritten notes and insertions.

Contact Information

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322