Skip to main content

British and Irish Literature: British Drama

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Manuscript Collection

British Broadcasting Corporation. (MSS 1055). Third Programme radio scripts, 1949-1978; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes).

The collection contains thirty-six typescripts for the British Broadcasting Corporation's Third Programme, dating from 1949 to 1978; however, the majority of the typescripts date from the 1960s. The collection is comprised of numerous works by Dylan Thomas, including multiple versions of "Under Milk Wood," as well as typescripts of works by David Gascoyne, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Stevie Smith, Wole Soyinka, and others. Many of the programs were produced by Douglas Cleverdon, who worked on the Third Programme from 1946 to 1969.

 

Ogburn, Charlton. (MSS 543). Papers, 1937-1989; 30.25 linear ft. (65 boxes, 1 oversized paper).

Charlton Ogburn was born March 15, 1911, in Atlanta, Georgia. After a varied career in the Bureau of Far Eastern Affairs, Ogburn devoted his time to writing and focusing on wildlife and the true identity of the author of plays attributed to William Shakespeare. The collection consists of clippings, manuscripts, galley proofs, correspondence, and a videocassette. The majority of the collection focuses on Ogburn's writing career rather than his diplomatic career.

 

 

Contact Information

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322