Skip to main content

British and Irish Literature: Irish Fiction

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Manuscript Collections

Banville, John. (MSS 953). Collection, [1979-1997], 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes).

This collection includes typescripts of several of Banville’s novels and plays, correspondence from John Banville to his brother, scrapbooks of Banville’s printed material, and family photographs.

 

Kiely, Benedict. (MSS 725).  Collection, 1985-1991; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

This collection includes correspondence between Kiely and Edwin C. Epps (a student of Kiely's while he was Writer-in-Residence at Emory University); a typescript of "A Former Cracker Set Loose Upon the Wilds of Ireland, or, How I Finally Met Up With Ben Kiely"; nine bookplates inscribed by Kiely to Epps; and a single folder related to a bust of Kiely sculpted by Lyn Kramer. Restrictions: Photocopying of "A Former Cracker Set Loose upon the Wilds of Ireland" is restricted without permission of the author.

 

O'Brien, Edna. (MSS 855). Papers; ca. 1960-1998; 46.75 linear ft. (95 boxes, 22 oversized papers).

The Edna O’Brien papers include literary manuscripts of most of O'Brien's short stories and novels, among them The Lonely Girl, Girls in Their Married Bliss, August is a Wicked Month, Casualties of Peace, Night, A Pagan Place, The High Road, Time and Tide, House of Splendid Isolation, Down by the River, and, most recently, Wild Decembers. Also present is literary correspondence, diaries (currently restricted), photographs, collected printed material and other related papers documenting her distinguished literary career.

Contact Information

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322