Skip to main content

British and Irish Literature: Literary Presses

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Manuscript Collection

Coracle Press. (MSS 1130). Collection, 1972-2007; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes).

Coracle Press is a small publishing press, established in 1975 in London by the artist Simon Cutts. Since 1996, it has been based in South Tipperary, Ireland. The press publishes poetry, art books, and other printed ephemera. The collection consists of printed material created and distributed by the Coracl Press from 1972-2007, including exhibit announcements, flyers, catalogs, and other conceptual art pieces.

 

Cuala Press. (MSS 232). Collection, circa 1908-1969; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

The Cuala Press was established by the Yeats family in 1902. This small collections is made up of five hand-colored cards printed by the Cuala Press: “The trees are in their autumn beauty (no. 44), “The Connaght Toast” (no. 50), “The Midland Toast” (no. 51), “The Magi” (no. 98), and “A Cradle Song” (no. 89). In addition, the department’s rare book collection includes over 80 books and broadsides issues by the Cuala Press from 1908-1974.

 

Monteith, Charles. (MSS 789). Collection; 1948-1994; .50 linear ft. (2 boxes).

Charles Monteith (1954-1995) served as editor and later chairman of the Faber and Faber publishing company until his death in 1995. The collection includes letters written between 1948 and 1994 from many of Monteith's literary associates from his years as editor with Faber and Faber, including Irish authors Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, and Richard Murphy. Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are restricted and cannot be used without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

 

Wallrich, Larry. (MSS 972). Collection, 1959-1988; .5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 2 oversized papers).

Larry Wallrich was a bookseller in London, England and Toronto, Canada from the 1960s to the 1980s. He also was an editor for the small press, Ruby Editions. The collection contains correspondence from various poets, artists, and other individuals to Wallrich. The correspondents mostly discuss the sale and publication of their books and general personal news. Prominent correspondents include Jonathan Williams, Robert Kelly, Andrew Crozier, and Tom Raworth. The collection contains a small amount of printed material collected by Wallrich, mostly concerning Jonathan Williams and the Jargon Society, and includes brochures, reviews, and catalogs. There are also three short manuscript drafts of poems by Michael McClure, Tom Kerrigan, and an unidentified author.

 

Contact Information

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322