Skip to main content

CHN 368: Writing Women in Traditional China: Resources from Journals and Online Databases

This guide is created for the class of Writing Women in Traditional China. It provides the students in this class with library resources that related to their' research projects and research papers. It also directs students to the useful links and tools

Searching E-Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to some E-Journals.  You can read e-journals from E-Journal site at the Library's website.  Here are several E-journals that are related to your class:

1.  Journal of Chinese Studies

2.  Women and Gender in Chinese Studies Review

3.  Women Writiers

4.  Late Imperial China

Searching On-Line Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the journal articles in the subject area of Writing Women in Traditional China.  All the databases have the feature of Advance Search which means you can input key words or headings in different fields so as to retrieve more search results.  Below are some databases that cover the subject areas for your class, they are: 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Women's Studies International

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Nearly 800 sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.  The coverage is from 1972 to the present.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322