Skip to main content

Sports Economics Research Guide: Sports Economic Data

Start Here!!

Sports Business Research Network

Covers market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry: equipment sales, participation, broadcasting, sponsorship and marketing. Full-text trade magazine and newsletters available.

 

Data Assistance

For additional assistance with data retrieval and identification, please consider the Electronic Data Center, located in the Emory Center for Digtial Scholarship (ECDS) on the 3rd floor of the Woodruff Library.  Please do not hesitate to contact the coordinator of data services, Dr. Rob O'Reilly (roreill@emory.edu). 

Recommended Resources

Includes data on: Attendance, Fan Cost Index, Income and Expenses, Payroll, Player Salaries, Manager Salaries, Rival Leagues (same data as available), Team Moves, Team Values and Sale Prices, Ticket Prices, TV Revenue, Winning Percents.  Also includes web resources from his textbook on Sports Economics.  All data is on a publicly accessible BOX directory.

Includes revenues for naming rights for baseball, basketball, football, ice hockey and more, as well as general venue information. Breakdown by state.

Provides historical statistics on salaries and attendance and links to major sports sites.  Also includes access to a baseball research journal.

Selected Spectator Sports: 1990 to 2006 ,Adult Attendance at Sports Events by Frequency: 2006, Participation in NCAA Sports: 2005 to 2006, Sporting Goods Sales by Product Category: 1990 to 2006.

Quick table of revenue and income of key sports. 

Major Agencies and Associations

Official Sites of Major League Sports--Statistics Pages

Useful Sites by Sport

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322