Skip to main content

WGS 200: Intro to WGSS - Browne, Fall 2017

Workshops

The Woodruff Library offers workshops on EndNote, Zotero, Adobe Illustrator, and more. See our Upcoming Classes schedule to sign up!

Copyright and Fair Use

See the Proposed Guidelines for Students and Instructors Preparing Multimedia Works from Stanford University Libraries' Copyright & Fair Use page. The limitations will help you determine what portion (percentage) of a work you are allowed to use in your project.

Images in Fashion Magazines

Current Fashion Magazines with images at Emory - short list

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion.

We have Esquire in print and on microfilm. (For recent issues, microfilm will be your best bet because we don’t have Esquire in print after 1977.) You will find Esquire in Microfilm drawer 1167 and our microfilm collection covers 1978-2013. The microfilm and print versions of Esquire both contain images.

NOTE: While it is easy to find the text of popular and fashion magazines in our databases (articles in databases rarely include images), it is difficult to find popular and fashion magazines with images in our library.  Like many academic libraries, we focus on collecting academic journals rather than popular publications. Local public libraries, however, have strong collections of popular and fashion magazines. Use worldcat.org to look up a magazine title and find out whether you can find it at a library nearby.

Multimedia Support

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

ECDS offers technology training to Emory faculty, students, and staff. ECDS is located on the third floor of the Robert W. Woodruff Library. ECDS is open from  9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Email ecds@emory.edu to set up an appointment or just drop by.

ECDS provides support for:

  • web page building
  • image and text scanning
  • word-processing
  • audio and video editing.

For more information about ECDS's computers and software, see their Computers page.

 

Lynda.com: Learn Tech at Your Own Pace

Visit the Woodruff Library's Lynda.com workstations to learn everything from Excel to Animation. Lynda.com provides video tutorial training on a wide range of applications. Visit the www.Lynda.com website to learn more.

Two Lynda.com workstations are located next to the study materials vending machine on the main floor of the library.

Images

Images: A Guide to Finding Visual Resources will help you locate and use images wisely.

Music

The Popular Music Research Guide will help you locate and cite music. There are music research guides for other genres of music, as well.

Film

A Film Studies Research Guide will help you locate and cite films.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322