Skip to main content

MES 190 -- Ancient Persian Empires -- Fall 2014: Journals & Databases

Journals and Databases

Electronic Journals

Databases at Emory

JSTOR 
The Journal Storage Project provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals..

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF JEWS IN THE ARAB WORLD
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.

ENCYCLOPAEDIA IRANICA 
Comprehensive research tool dedicated to teh study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

INDEX ISLAMICUS
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.

PROJECT MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery..

 

Subject Guide

Hikmat Faraj's picture
Hikmat Faraj
Contact:
Phone: 404-727-0336

Newspapers

For a complete list of Middle Eastern regional newspapers and news media guide go to ABYZ News Links

Below are links to widely circulated Arabic and English newspapers

    Arabic Newspapers

  • An-Nahar - Leading independent Arabic newspaper published in Lebanon. It was founded in 1933 by Gebran Tueni. It has grown since then to be considered today as Lebanon's equivalent of the New York Times.1
  • Al-Hayat - It is one of the leading daily pan-Arab newspapers, with a circulation estimated over 200,000. It is the preferred venue for liberal intellectuals who wish to express themselves to a large public.2
  • Al-Safir - Published in Beirut, with a circulation of about 50,000. It was founded by Talal Salman in 1974.3
  • Al-Ahram - It was founded in 1875, and is the most widely circulating Egyptian daily newspaper. It is majority owned by the Egyptian government. It has a daily circulation of 1,000,000.4
  • Al-Zaman - Iraqi daily newspaper published in Baghdad, Beirut and London.
  • English Newspapers

  • The Daily Star -
  • Al-Ahram Weekly
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322