Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Reference Works

Resources for research and teaching.

Guide to Reference Works

Reference Works on South Asia in DiscoverE: Good starting point for basic research. Historical, geographical, and cultural dictionaries, encyclop(a)edias, or gazetteers.

Try the following search phrase in DiscoverE: (india OR 'south asia' OR hindu$ OR buddh$) AND (dictionar$ OR encyclop$ OR gazetteer$) not biograph$ not 'west indi$'

Among online reference works, try the Oxford Bibliographies Online (e.g., for Buddhism and Hinduism), and Oxford Handbooks Online.

See also general reference databases online as well as works of narrower scope on geographical area, e.g., Bangladesh -- using this search phrase in DiscoverE: bangladesh AND (dictionar$ OR encyclop$ OR gazetteer$) not biograph$.

To find articles that review a book or literature in general on a subject, try these book review databases. Or try Google or Google Scholar (put the title in quotes and add the word review).  Also, try the comprehensive journal databases via DiscoverE or Databases@Emory.       

Bibliographies

For comprehensive works, browse DiscoverE for Bibliographies on South Asia or India. The online Global Books in Print includes all books currently available for sale from publishers in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand, in addition to some forthcoming and out of print titles. Also includes selected full text reviews.  The Centre for South Asian Studies at the University of London has a series of bibliographic essays called "Keywords in South Asian Studies" with titles including Ashraf, Bhardralok, Bhakti, Bharat natya, Darshan, Ghazal, Hinduism, Karma, Khadi, Middle Class, Monsoon, Qawm, Raga, Samachar, Tawayaf, Vegetarianism, and Yoga/Yogi.

Sometimes the most useful bibliographies are those that appear in recommended monographs, review articles in major journals, and encyclopedias relevant to your specific subject. 

On the internet, there are several bibliographies on miscellaneous subjects at the Religion in South Asia (RISA) archive and at Scholia. And, of course, you can try Google for bibliographies on .edu sites or try Google Scholar. The H-Buddhism list in 2012 started a Zotero bibliography here.

For researchers in pre-modern India, Sheldon Pollock's "Sanskrit Knowledge Systems" may be useful, as well as Panditproject.org.

A bibliography of Dutch Studies on South Asia, Tibet, and Classical Southeast Asia gives an overview of Dutch scholarly activities from the early 17th century up to the present. In alphabetical order it presents the authors and their works, which were written mostly, but not exclusively, within an academic context.

If you need bibliographical management software supported by Emory, try Zotero or Endnote, both supported by Emory Libraries with workshops, libguides, and tech support.

 

Emory Course Guides

Other Universities' Guides

The Committee On South Asia Libraries and Documentation (CONSALD) has a list of major university libguides in South Asian Studies.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322