Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Digital Content

Resources for research and teaching.

Digital Humanities for South Asia

Archival

Many of the databases or digital collections licensed by Emory contain primary source documents -- old newspapers, books, manuscripts, government documents, memoirs, etc.  Click on the links below to search the collections directly.  Much of the content is also indexed in the Combined Search tab in DiscoverE.  Most of the collections listed below are licensed by Emory.  Some are freely available on the web.  See also a selection of  non-Emory archives listed in the tabs under "Resources outside Emory" in this guide.

Other primary source documents are reproduced in reprints or printed compilations or in microforms discoverable in DiscoverE using the Catalog tab.  See also this list of microforms in this guide.  These reproductions and compilations usually will bear the Library of Congress subject sub-heading "sources" in most western research library catalog records.  For example, take a look at the results of adding the subject search for "sources" to a keyword search for "India" in DiscoverE

Other primary sources in their original form may not be so conveniently cataloged, however. Some may lie uncataloged or minimally cataloged in private archives, museums, or even special manuscript collections of libraries.  We have listed some major, mostly off-line, archival resources in the Non-Emory Resources section of this guide.

Dissertations and theses

Electronic Text Repositories

Good resource listings can be found at the following

Indica et Buddhica contains texts in Sanskrit as well as lexica in Sanskrit, Tibetan, and English. 

The Internet Archive hosts the Free Indological Collection.  Try also a search by keyword "Sanskrit." It also hosts University of Toronto Library's collection of digitized Sanskrit texts.

French Books on India is an ever-expanding e-library arranged in chronological order. The site lists books from 1531 to 2016, giving access to full-text copies of hundreds of titles that appeared before 1939 and offering short critical summaries of the most important items written by international experts. 

Listed below are some specialized collections.

SARAI

SOUTH ASIA RESOURCE ACCESS ON THE INTERNET

  • Library Links, Reference Tools, Bibliographic Resources
  • E-Journals
  • E-News
  • E-Books
  • E-Images (Online Image Archives)
  • e-Text Collections
  • AMESA--Directory of Scholars of Africa, the Middle East, and South Asia (via Columbia University)
    • Supercedes "The International Directory of South Asia Scholars"
  • South Asia Resources by Country
  • South Asia Resources by Organization
  • South Asia Resources by Topic
  • Other South Asia-related online resource collections
  • SARAI In-Process Resources: A raw, unsorted collection of South Asia-related resources which will gradually be evaluated, selected, annotated, and sorted into the various categories of SARAI above.

Databases for Journal Articles and other secondary material

Most databases we license index journal articles; a few, like JSTOR, provide full text access.  See the guide to Journal Articles for general tips.  See also this guide on "database standard features," esp. boolean searches.  Most of the content of major databases is indexed in the Combined Search tab of DiscoverE.  So it may be useful to search there first.  

Most comprehensive online database aggregations like EBSCO's Academic Search Premier and ProQuest Databases will generate useful results.

Beyond Emory, try the following.

  • Harvard Business School Case Studies involving India
  • South Asia Research Documentation Services database (about 70,000 citations from 1797-2006). 
  • Social Science Journals Database of the Institute for Studies in Industrial Development, New Delhi.  The database is a citation index of articles from 150 English-language Indian social science journals.  As of this writing, the database consists of more than 160,000 records. To sign up for free access to their Social Science Journals Database, follow this link. Once you have secured a username and password (free), you can then login and search the database.  For a full review, see the Spring 2010 edition of the AAMES newsletter. AAMES is the Asian, African, and Middle Eastern Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries and the American Library Association.
  • Google Scholar 

Among the more subject-specific databases of possible interest to South Asian Studies, try the following.

Newspapers

Current and historical news sources.  See also the Journals and Newspapers page of this guide.

Online Reference Works

Alert Services

Consult the general guide on Current Awareness or Alert Services on how to obtain email or rss notices about new books, journal tables of contents, database updates, and more.  DiscoverE offers RSS feeds for searches so you can get updates on any new search hits.  We can also provide alerts from our main vendor of English language works published in the U.S. and U.K., Yankee Book Publishers.

Savifa, the "virtual library of South Asia" based in Germany, offers Table of Contents alerts for around 80 journals with a focus on South Asian studies.

Some sample feeds from commercial publishers can be found in boxes below.

InformaWorld hosts journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis, and Routledge and offers feeds for the following:

  • New Issue Alerts - tells you when new issues of your chosen journals are available 
  • Citation Alerts - tells you when your chosen pieces of content are cited by other new content 
  • Publication Alerts - tells you when there are new publications in your chosen subject areas 
  • eBook Series Alerts - tells you when new eBooks in your favourite series are available 
  • iFirst Alerts - tells you when new iFirst articles are available 
  • Database Alerts - tells you when your chosen A&I databases have been updated 
  • Encyclopedia Alerts - tells you when your chosen Encyclopedias have been updated 
  • Search Alerts - tells you when new content matching your saved search expression is available

IngentaConnect is a competing aggregator and offers similar services.

See also indology blogs, and most of the major distributors of books published in South Asia.

Google Alerts will email updates to your own Google searches.

Social bookmarking sites like del.icio.us and citeulike will send updates via rss for tags you select.

Finally, join one of the field's major listservs.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322