The Jain eLibrary website is an online collection of Jain scriptures, Jain manuscripts, Jain dictionary, Jain encyclopedia, Jain articles, Jain magazines, and ancient and contemporary Jain books in English, Hindi, Gujarati, and other languages. It contains Shvetämbar Ägams, Digambar Shästras, Four Anuyogas, Commentary literature, Präkrit and Sanskrut literature, and ancient and modern literature representing all aspects of Jainism. It also includes the literature of various Jain sects. Catalogues of Jain manuscripts of various Jain libraries add to the diversity of this collection.
The JAINpedia project was created by the Institute of Jainology (IoJ) after the successful 2006 publication of the Catalogue of the Jain Collection at the British Library. Launched at Buckingham Palace by His Royal Highness the Duke of Edinburgh and the Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, the book was co-authored by Professor Nalini Balbir.
The IoJ conceived the JAINpedia project in 2007 with the vision of making the Jain collections in major UK institutions more accessible to the public. The ambitious plan opens up these important holdings through public exhibitions, events and a media-rich website featuring over 5,000 folios and original contextual material. The project is supported by the Jain community worldwide and the Heritage Lottery Fund in the UK.
Jainworld is a non-profit tax-exempt membership and donation-supported organization dedicated to Jain tradition of wisdom, compassion, equality, brotherhood, universal well-being and spirituality. This oldest wisdom of mankind is being made available in all the languages for the benefit of humanity with movements like Mission 24L.
Newly Acquired Titles on Jainism at Emory
You can access a list of newly acquired titles for a given topic by searching for a key term in DiscoverE and then selecting "Newly Acquired" under the "Show only" category on the left-hand side of the screen. Select "Date-newest" under the "Sorted by:" category in order to see the most recent publications first.
This second edition is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
Explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults, and movements that have originated or flourished in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the beginning of European settlement to the present.
It includes coverage of religious life among indigenous peoples; specific aspects of religious life; and the relationship of religion to the political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. Topics include: Church-state issues; Environment and ecology; Gay and lesbian issues; Religion and politics; Religious life of African Americans and Latinos; Religious thought; Role of women; Worship.
The Norton Anthology of World Religions
by Jack Miles (General Editor); Wendy Doniger (Editor); Donald S. Lopez (Editor); James Robson (Editor); David Biale (Editor); Lawrence Cunningham (Editor); Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)