Skip to main content

Course Guide to KRN 271: Political Change and Democracy in Korea: Finding Journal Articles

This Course guide is created for the class of KRN 271: Political Change and Democracy in Korea. It provides the students with the library resources on Korean Studies, specifically for their class projects and research papers. The Guides is divided in fo

Finding Articles from Journals

Class Related Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

1. Acta Koreana

 

2. Background Notes on Countries of the World: North Korea

 

3. Background Notes on Countries of the World: South Korea

 

4. CEIC Matrix - Korea

 

5. Country Economic Forecast: North Korea

 

6. International Journal of Korean Studies

 

7. The Journal of Korean Studies

 

8. Korea Observer

 

9. Korean Studies

10. Seoul Journal of Korean Studies

Finding Articles from Online Databases

 

Class Related Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the atricles in the subject area of your class, they are: 

NK NEWS PRO

The database covers exclusive daily news, in-depth investigations, expert interviews and analysis by impressive number of top experts such as scholars, journalists, and North Korean refugees on North Korea-related issues ranging from everyday life in North Korea to tensions over nuclear weapons.

LexisNexis Academic Universe

Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Proquest

This full text journal article database contains Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

World News Connection

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, Korea is certainly included.

 

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411

Other Resources to Use

Here are some other resources that you can try:

Google Scholar

You can also use Goodle Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.  However unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text.  Therefore, please check ejournals@EmoryEUCLID, discoverE or Worldcat before paying for full text, our library may already have the source you need.

Emory DVD-LEND Program

At our Music and Media Library, you can check out some recent and popular movies to watch at home (or Dorm), please visit the website for circulation policie

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322