Skip to main content

Research Guide to EAS 250WR: INTRODUCTION TO EAST ASIAN STUDIES: Searching Online Databases

This Course Guide provides students with library resources on East Asian Studies for their class projects and research papers. The library resources are divided into the formats of books, journals, films, movies, online databases and so on so forth,

Online Databases in English

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Proquest

This full text journal article database contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

World News Connection

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, Korea is certainly included.

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

NK NEWS PRO

The database covers exclusive daily news, in-depth investigations, expert interviews and analysis by impressive number of top experts such as scholars, journalists, and North Korean refugees on North Korea-related issues ranging from everyday life in North Korea to tensions over nuclear weapons.

Online Databases in Chinese

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志库

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 journal titles, covering the period of time from 1994 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Core Newspaper Database 中国主要报纸数据库

CCND selects core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000, the sources are from 1,000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Data Online 中国数据在线

China Data Online is a collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics.  Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities.  Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

Siku Quanshu 四库全书

The Siku Quanshu is undisputed as the largest single assembly of classical works in the world. It was compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (complete library of four treasures) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more.

China Local Gazetteers 中国新方志数据库

CLG is a comprehensive collection of Chinese local gazetteers covering all regions of China.  As of January 2014, there are over 26,400 volumes of full-text titles in this database.  Thousands of volumes are expected to be added to the database annually.

Dissertations of China 中国学位论文数据库

DOC presents the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980.

China Online Journals 中国数字化期刊全文数据库

COJ includes 7,578 journal titles published in China.  Its high-quality full-text records display extensive article-related information, which greatly facilitates user's research.  COJ could be the most cost-effective journal database in China with many user-friendly features.

Academic Conferences in China 中国学术会议论文数据库

ACIC includes academic papers (in Chinese or English) from national and international conferences held in China since 1985.

Online Databases in Japanese

JapanKnowledge (in Japanese)

Offers the largest Japanese-language online reference collection.  When you’re directed to the JapanKnowledge site, please click on the Enter button to log in to use the content.

The database allows two users to access it simultaneously and is shared among three institutions, including Emory. Therefore, after you finish, please remember to log out for other users. (Simply closing the window won’t log you out for another 15 minutes.)

JapanKnowledge includes the following resources:

  • Encyclopedias (e.g. Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, imidas, 現代用語の基礎知識, etc.),
  • Language dictionaries (e.g. Japanese-English, Japanese-Japanese, English-English, Kanji dictionary, etc.),
  • Other dictionaries (e.g. 日本人名大辞典, 国史大辞典, etc.)
  • Multimedia databases (e.g. 図解アニメーション, サウンドライブラリ、ミュージックライブラリ, 映像記録, etc).
  • Some full-text databases (e.g. 週刊エコノミスト, 新編 日本古典文学全集).

MagazinePlus

Provides over 3.3 million bibliographic references to articles from more than 7,600 Japanese scholarly periodicals from 1975 to the present.  It covers subject areas including the humanities, social sciences, medical science and science and technology.

Newspaper databases (in Japanese)

Emory subscribes to the databases of the three main Japanese newspapers, each of which has archives of their newspaper articles dating back to the late 1800s and accompanying resources:

Kikuzo II Visual (Asahi Shimbun)

Kikuzo is Asahi Shimbun's newspaper database, containing over 13 million full-text articles from the asahi Shimbun, as well as the newspaper's two weekly magazines, AERA and Shukan Asahi.

Yomidas Rekishikan(Yomiuri Shimbun)

Yomidas Rekishikan contains more than 10 million articles from the Yomiuri Shimbun, articles from the English language publication Daily Yomiuri, as well as a biographical database and abstract index.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322