Skip to main content

ENG 201W: Multimedia Journalism -- News Reporting and Writing -- Tefft, Fall 2017: Find Articles

Find Public Policy Articles

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
A part of the Congressional Quarterly Electronic Library. The CQ Researcher focuses on a specific issue each week and provides a comprehensive background on the issue--legislative activity, historical background, current developments, and a bibliography for future research.

 

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences, going back to 1915. To acquire results prior to 1960, be sure to change the first part of your date range to "earliest."

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Find Articles in Major Newspapers

For all of the publications below, you can visit the newspapers' home pages for recent content or use our library resources such as discoverE and ejournals@Emory to find current and past content.

Atlanta Journal Constitution

MSNBC

New York Times (current NYTimes digital version with images)

***NOTE: There are many ways to get articles from The New York Times. Emory's libraries subscribe to The New York Times and you can also pick up print copies of the daily New York Times from various locations on campus, so do not pay for an article that you find online. Here is the link for more full-text articles (minus images) from The New York Times through the Proquest database. You can also use an "Academic Pass" for 24 hours of free access to the Web version of The New York Times. For more information on the many ways to read the New York Times at Emory, see the New York Times @ Emory research guide.

Newsweek

Wall Street Journal

Washington Post


***To find articles from publications not listed above, OR publications listed above for which you want to access historical (even recent past) content:

  • Go to the eJournals@Emory database.
     
  •  Type in the publication's title, then select Search, to access free articles.

Find Journal and Magazine Articles in Databases

Find News Articles in Databases

LexisNexis Academic Universe

Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

For help on citing a newspaper article using MLA Style, see:

Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab): MLA Works Cited: Periodicals and the Cite and Evaluate Sources tab of this research guide

 

Factiva

Factiva provides quick searching in nearly 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones news wires. In addition, Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal. You also can search the content of more than 9,000 Web sites.
 

Access World News

Access World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record.

Google Scholar

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322