Skip to main content

Europe and Germany After 1945: Getting Started

HIST 487RW

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page

Topic Selection/Subject Encyclopedias

 

Before starting on your paper or project, you'll need to develop a research topic, collect background information, and then find books, articles, and other materials associated with the keywords you've identified that relate to your topic. In order to do comprehensive research, it is important to think about which other disciplines may touch on your topic. Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic.

Quick reference

Encyclopedia Judaica

Reference DS102.8 .E54 2007

Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture
Reference DD290.26 .E53 1999

With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. Containing longer overviews of up to 2,000 words, as well as shorter factual entries, cross-referencing to other relevant articles, useful further reading suggestions and extensive indexing, this highly useable volume provides the scholar, teacher, student or non-specialist with an astonishing breadth and depth of information.

Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990
DD14 .M64 1998

A reference work valuable for the bibliography that follows each entry.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322