Skip to main content

Brazilian Studies: Databases

This guide is designed to help students conduct research about Brazil at Emory University. Special Thanks to Barbara Alvarez of the University of Michigan for permission to model this guide on the Brazilian Studies Guide at the University of Michigan

Portuguese Language Databases

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture : The Lima Oliveira Library The online archive includes around 2,750 pamphlets, from the Oliveira Lima Library housed at Catholic University. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil.

Dominio Publico Brazilian website with over 500 literary, artistic and scientific works (texts, sound recordings, images and videos).

PORBASE: Base Nacional de Dados Bibliográficos Portuguese National Bibliographic Database. An online database containing over 1,500,000 entries from libraries all over Portugal.

Redalyc Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal. Full text database of Latin American journal in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities from the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico

SCIELO The Scientific Electronic Library Online- is an electronic full text virtual library covering a selected collection of journals from Brazil. Many of journals are in the physical/medical sciences. SciELO includes also journals in the humanities, social sciences literature and linguistics. SCIELO contains an electronic book collection for Brazil as well.

Sumarios This resource indexes Brazilian scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas.

 

English Laguage Databases

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volumes 1 (1936) through 49 (1989)

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volume 50 (1990) onward  HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index  Indexes primarily Spanish language journals and magazines. Covers all areas of study.

Historical Abstracts is one of the two primary databases for History; indexes articles, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.

JSTOR  This databases provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Most articles are in English, but there are a good number of Spanish language articles.

MLA International Bibliography this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials

Project Muse Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322