Skip to main content

Brazilian Studies: Newspapers

This guide is designed to help students conduct research about Brazil at Emory University. Special Thanks to Barbara Alvarez of the University of Michigan for permission to model this guide on the Brazilian Studies Guide at the University of Michigan

Historical Newspapers

Diario de Pernambuco is acknowledged as the oldest newspaper in circulation in Latin America. The issues from ran from1825-1923 offer insights into early Brazilian commerce, social affairs, politics, family life, slavery, and such. Published in the port of Recife. Made available digitally by the University of Florida.

Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira Part of the Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, the Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira is a portal to Brazilian journals and allows online consultation of magazines, bulletins and yearbooks archive, and serial publications.  Search by publication title, time periods or region.

Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements. Contains many Brazilian publications.

Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive - SERIES 1 contains Estado de Sao Paulo (16119 issues) from 1875-01-04 to 1922-12-31 and Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro 4785 issues) from 1884-08-31 1901-12-31.

Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive- SERIES 2  contains Cidade do Rio (345 issues) from 1887-10-13 to 1888-12-31; Folha do Amazonas (Manuas 1454 issues) from 1910-08-20 to 1915-12-31; Gazeta de Tarde  (Rio de Janeiro 1049issues) from 1883-01-16 to 1886-12-31; Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro 29013 issues) from 1827-08-29 to 1922-12-31; Provincia do Para (Belem 1369 issues) from 1908-01-01 to 1911-12-31, and Rio News (936 issues) from 1879-04-05 to 1900-12-25.

O Estado de Sao Paulo (1875 to Present)  -  One of Sao Paulo's main newspapers.  Archive Limit to the number articles that can be viewed a month

Contemporary News Sources

Latin American Newsstand 2005 to present Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Contains Folha de Sao.Paulo (Apr 30, 2005 - Nov 21, 2012); O Globo (Rio de Janeiro, Mar 20, 2005 – present) and Jornal Do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro, May 27, 2005 – present)

VEJA Digital Digital access all issues of Veja, an important weekly Brazilian news magazine.  Coverages begins with issue 1 1968. YOU MUST REGISTER TO ACCESS THE SITE

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322