Skip to main content

Brazilian Studies: Libraries, Archives, Digital Collections

This guide is designed to help students conduct research about Brazil at Emory University. Special Thanks to Barbara Alvarez of the University of Michigan for permission to model this guide on the Brazilian Studies Guide at the University of Michigan

Archives & Libraries

Fundacao Biblioteca Nacional Online access to the catalog of Brazil's National Library. Search for books, dissertations, music, cartography, journals, reference, and special collections.

Arquivo Nacional Provides access to public documents, mainly produced by the Federal Executive Power, and the Judicial and Legislative Powers, as well as individuals and legal entities.

 Cartografia do Brasil  Collection of maps digital maps from the  Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal 1700 to 1822.  Click on the number of the registro to access the digital image.

 

 

Image Collections

Brasiliana Fotografica Collection of digital photographs from Brazil's National Library.

Brasiliana Iconografia Collection of over 2500 digital images from 4 collections in Brazil

Selected Digital Libraries

Biblioteca Brasiliana Guita e Jose Mindlin a Brasiliana Collection done by the Universidade de São Paulo. More than 3000 titles on different subjects about Brazil can be accessed online.

Biblioteca Digital do Senado Federal Digital repository of the Brazilian Federal Senate -- includes access to rare books, journals and Senate documents.

BNDigital a Brazilian National Library digitization project that seeks to preserve and provide wider access to historic documents pertaining to Brazilian history and literature. Contains books, journals, newspapers, images, and original manuscripts.

Brasiliana electronica (UFRJ) a digitization project of the Brasiliana Collection at the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro. More than 400 works published between 1931-1993 have been digitized and are available through the site.

Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project Work of Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to digitize executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire to 1889.

Cronica da Rua  Collection of Digitized Journals from Curitiba

Editora UNESP  Editioral of the Universidade Estadual Paulista offers a collection of over 190 completely downloadable e-books they have published.

Fundacao Getulio Vargas  Digital repository of one of Brazil's leading research institutes.

Itau Cultural The mission of Itaú cultural is to create knowledge about the arts in Brazil; to understand the country’s cultural practices, and provide access to culture and promote social participation. Itaú cultural also produced an encyclopedia that serves as a virtual reference service, bringing together information on visual arts, art and technology, literature, theater, cinema, dance, and music produced in Brazil.

Projeto Releituras biographical and Bibliographical summaries of Brazilian writers and 1500+ short stories, poems and essays available. In Portuguese.

Revistas Curitibana 1900-1920 A collection of digital magazines from the Universidade Federal do Parana.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322