Skip to main content

QEP First-Year Seminar Faculty Toolkit

A Guide to Teaching with Rose Library

The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library seeks to partner with faculty to transform teaching and research at Emory. One of the Rose Library's most important goals is to incorporate Emory's rich research collections in to the undergraduate and graduate experiences. We encourage the use of our materials in undergraduate and graduate course assignments.

Rose Library staff is available to meet with faculty to discuss their syllabi and assignments that include using primary course materials found in the Rose Library collections. It is strongly recommended that faculty collaborate with staff staff prior to the beginning of the semester to confirm space and availability of materials and ensure that students will be prepared to successfully complete their assignments.

To schedule a faculty consultation, please contact Gabrielle M. Dudley, Instruction Archivist and QEP Librarian at gabrielle.dudley@emory.edu.

Designing Assignments

The Teaching with Rose Library Portal is a resource for faculty interested in teaching with archival collections in the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library at Emory University. The portal is designed to inspire faculty to enhance and expand their current teaching practices and to promote a pedagogical culture of teaching with archives. Offered in the portal are sample assignments across disciplines, examples of in-session exercises, and information on scheduling instruction sessions that have been created by Emory instructors or Rose Library staff and have been used in a class. 

The Portal includes the following: 

  • Assignments - these are assignment designed for using special collections material in Rose Library. Each assignment was developed by an Emory instructor and have been used in a class. 
  • Class Session Configuration - descriptions of activities used during the instruction session in Rose Library. 
  • Testimonials - statements from instructors that have used Rose Library in a course. 
  • Instruction Request Form - a form to request to have a class instruction session. A form must be completed for each course projected to use Rose Library. 
  • Faculty FAQs - frequently asked questions from faculty about accessing materials for a class, scheduling a session, and more. 
  • Student FAQs - frequently asked questions from student researchers about accessing materials in the reading room, citation information, requesting a research consulttaion, and more. 

Helpful Links

The Portal includes the following:

  • Rose Library Collections - overview of Rose Library's main collecting areas. Collecting areas include: African American History & Culture, Emory University Archives, Literature & Poetry, Modern Politics & Southern History, Rare Books.
  • Research Guides & Tools - research guides that provide a short description of collections related to a particular topic. Research guides are a great way to get to know Rose Library's collections.
  • EmoryFindingAids - database that provides centralized access to detailed descriptions of archival and manuscript materials.
  • discoverE - University's online catalog that provides access to published materials in Rose Library like rare books, periodicals, and more.  
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322