Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN278/EAS278/GUST278: REVOLUTIONS & REPUBLICS China in the 20th and 21st Centuries: Finding Journal Articles

Course Guide to CHN278/EAS278/GUST278: REVOLUTIONS & REPUBLICS China in the 20th and 21st Centuries

Finding Articles from Journals

Class Related Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

1. Journal of Current Chinese Affairs

 

2. Contemporary Chinese Thought

 

3. China Heritage Quarterly

 

4. Journal of Chinese Political Science

 

5. Chinese Studies in History

 

6. Journal of Contemporary China

 

7. Modern China

 

8. Washington Journal of Modern China

 

9. Journal of Chinese Economic and foreign Trade Studies

10. Journal of Chinese Military History

11. China, Accession to the WTO and Economic Reform

12. China Commercial Banking Report

Other Resources to Use

Here are some other resources that you can try:

Google Scholar

You can also use Goodle Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.  However unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text.  Therefore, please check ejournals@EmoryEUCLID, discoverE or Worldcat before paying for full text, our library may already have the source you need. 

Finding Articles from Online Databases

Class Related Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the atricles in the subject area of your class, they are:

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Yearbooks Online

This E-Yearbooks database contains the China Economy Yearbook, the China Educational Development Yearbook, the China Environment Yearbook, The China Legal Development yearbook, the China Population and Labor Yearbook, the China Society Yearbook from 2007 to 2009.

China: Culture and Society

China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.

China Data Online

China Data Online is a collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics.  Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities.  Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980a

This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Proquest

This full text journal article database contains Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Historical Abstracts [ABC-CLIO]

The ABC-CLIO Historical Abastracts covers the materials from 1955 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Coverare includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

 

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Chinese Studies

Oxford Bibliographies online in Chinese Studies is a multi-and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines. It provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese, and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.

World News Connnection

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and Englsih-language news and information.  Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions.  China is certainly included there.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322