Skip to main content

FILM 396R - Japanese Anime: Scholarly Articles

Core Journals

Mechademia: An Annual Forum for Anime, Manga and the Fan Arts - current, full text access via Project Muse. Mechademia’s subject area extends from manga and anime to game design, fashion, graphics, packaging, and toy industries, as well as a broad range of fan practices related to popular culture in Japan. We are interested in how the academic and fan communities can provide new possibilities for critical thinking and popular writing. Mechademia appears annually, published by University of Minnesota Press. (Publisher description)

Animation: An Interdisciplinary Journal - access via Sage Journals

Animation Studies - an open access, peer-reviewed journal - access online

Recommended Databases for Film & Media Articles

The Databases @ Emory page contains a broad selection of databases which may contain film-related articles. The most useful citation databases and indexes for Film and Media Studies are listed below.

DISCIPLINE-SPECIFIC DATABASES

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present). Major index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.

MLA International Bibliography  (1963 to present). Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes many articles related to film and mass culture.

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990.

Project Muse (ca. 1990 to present). Full text of many journals, among them Wide Angle, Cinema Journal, Postmodern Culture, Modernism/Modernity.

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary). Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in Film Studies, history, economics, and other fields. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to a few years prior to the current year. For recent journal issues, you should check other databases in addition to JSTOR.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322