Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality in Africa: Find Articles

Special issues of journals devoted to women and sexuality in Africa

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

In this class, you will be using both primary and secondary sources in your research. 

See our Primary Sources Research Guide to better understand the differences between these sources and how both types of sources help you develop your argument. 

Women's & Gender Studies Databases

Women's Studies International
1972-present

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies up to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Gender Watch

Coverage varies
GenderWatch is a full text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

Contemporary Women's Issues
1992 to the present
Provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed through CWI.

Find Journals

To search for articles in a specific journal, go to ejournals@emory

  • Search by journal title. Ex: Gender & Society
     
  • Select the hyperlinked journal title and log in to Emory's resources.
     
  • Next, search within the journal for articles by topic, author, title, etc.

Selected Journal List

Feminist Collection
Available through Contemporary Women's Issues.

Feminist Formations(Continuation of NWSA Journal)

Feminist Review
HQ1154 .F4465

Feminist Studies: FS
HQ1101 .F455

Feminist Theory

HQ1190 .F465

Gender & History
HQ1101 .G46

Gender & Society
HQ1075 .G457

Hypatia
HQ1101 .H9
Formerly published under the title Women's Studies International Forum
HQ1101 .W775 (v. 5-v.29, 1982-2006)  Now a separate journal.

Journal of Women's History
HQ1101 .J68

NWSA Journal
HQ1186 .U6 N87

Sex Roles
HQ786 .S4  (v.1-v.55, 1975-2006)

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & Society
HQ1101 .S55

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
E-only 

Woman's Art Journal
N72 .F45W64

Women & Politics
HQ1236 .W63  (v.1-v.26, 1980-2004)

Continued as Journal of Women, Politics & Policy

HQ1236 .W63

Women's Review of Books
Micfilm 1635

Current issues shelved in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm.

Women's Studies
HQ1101 .W77  (v.1-v.28, 1972-1999)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322