Skip to main content

Political Economy of Development: What's the Scholarly Literature on My Research Question?

Scopus

 

Scopus is an excellent interdisciplinary social science database that allows for citation checking.

discoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Science Commons and, Oxford libraries.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource; however, use the following link to access Google Scholar in order to assure you that you are accessing Emory's resources in tandem with your searches. 

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

Key Databases

 

Political Science Complete
Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
 PAIS International (1915-present)Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915-present. Be sure to choose both the archive and the current index.  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Econlit Good for political economy issue & economic approaches to social and development issues.  You can search at the same time as Political Science Complete above.  Just go to the dropdown of databases (under "choose databases"), and select the other resource of interest.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Web of Science
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases. Good for determining who has cited whom. Be sure to declick the options for "Arts and Humanities" and "Sciences."  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.

 
 

Regional/Geographic Databases

‚Äč

Africa Wide NiPad

Combines African Studies and South African Studies databases to provide access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. African Studies includes a wide range of information sources (books, journals, radio and television programs, newspapers, etc.) from Africa, Europe, and the USA.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322