Skip to main content

Political Science General Research Guide: General Overview

General Overview

Activity Suggested Resources & Guidance
Locate Major Reference Sources & Reviews Try out Oxford Handbooks and Bibliographies, Routledge Handbooks, and Annual Reviews. Use bibliographies as needed (some will allow for direct searching in eJournals and DiscoverE!). 
Locate Journal Articles & Track Citations Major databases to consider are: PPolitical Science Complete, Scopus, and Econlit.  See the databases tab for further suggestions. Scopus has significant strengths in citation tracking and related record functionality to expand your literature review.  Use the FindIt@Emory button in these databases to link to full text.  Also consider use of Browzine for keeping up to date with content from relevant political science journals.  Use Google Scholar after you have located some relevant materials.  Be sure that you choose Emory under "library links" 
Use LibX

Install the Chrome extension LibX to search DiscoverEWorldCatGoogle web or Google Scholar by simply highlighting and right-clicking on the title, author, isbn or keyword in any web page. Useful to find books and articles on the fly, as well as tables of contents, synopses and reviews in Google from a DiscoverE record. You also need to use the proxy addition functionality for access to licensed Emory e-resources.

Locate data sources You may wish to start with Statista and/or Data Planet for quantitative data.  Also, consider the Dataverse repository. Further recommendations are available via several guides maintained by Dr. Rob O'Reilly, Data Services Librarian in ECDS.
Locate Books & Browse Shelves Be sure you always login to DiscoverE to take full advantage of its functionality and to be able to take advantage of request services (e.g., document delivery).  You have extended borrowing privileges as an Honors student.  Remember to browse shelves!
Utilize ILL and/or Open Access Resources If Emory does not own the material that you require, use Interlibrary Loan, or contact Chris Palazzolo, who can (rush) order the material for you.  Also, consider the Unpaywall browser extension to locate a free, open access version if the Emory link does not work or you are asked to pay for content.
Capturing Results & Managing Your Citations Use bibliographic software like Zotero or Endnote to capture print or online book and journal citations or full-text articles and to automatically generate footnotes and reference lists.  You can use Zotero also to annotate your readings or share your bibliographies online with other.
Research Methods and Introductions SRMO contains content from
- Over 600 books
- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- The entire “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series
- Two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles
- Newly commissioned videos

 

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322