Skip to main content

Political Science General Research Guide: What's the Scholarly Literature on My Research Question?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource; however, use the following link to access Google Scholar in order to assure you that you are accessing Emory's resources in tandem with your searches. 

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

Key Databases

Political Science Complete

 Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

 

Political Science Complete Search
 
 
 
 
 

Other Useful Databases

  • Scopus
    • Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with bibliometric tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
  • Econlit
    • Full text for more than 400 publications including titles from the American economic Association such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives. Can search concurrently with Sociological Abstracts and Political Science Complete.
  • SocIndex
    • Covers major international literature (journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers) in sociology and related disciplines.  Can search concurrently with Econlit and Political Science Complete.
  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    • Covers theory and research in international affairs and foreign relations in working papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, links and resources, and maps and country data.
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322