Skip to main content

IDS 390 - Interdisciplinary Studies Tutorial - SP 2017: Library Resources

Starting Points for Library Research

Bookmark these handy links to resources at Emory University’s Woodruff Library:

 

Woodruff Library Main Page
http://web.library.emory.edu
Start here for all information about the library—including our hours, services, news and announcements, and links to resources such as EUCLID and databases.

Reference
http://web.library.emory.edu/services/ask-librarian
Ask a librarian for help conducting research for your paper, thesis or other needs. The Library Service Desk on Level 2 also offers walk-up reference assistance.

Interlibrary Loan
http://web.library.emory.edu/services/interlibrary-loan
If the Emory Libraries don’t have the item you’re looking for, you may be able to obtain it through Interlibrary Loan. Check WorldCat (available through Databases @ Emory).

Research Guides
http://guides.main.library.emory.edu/
Start your research here: course-specific guides, general guides for researching a particular subject, and how-to guides on topics ranging from finding newspaper articles to managing citations in your papers using applications like EndNote and Zotero.

discoverE
http://discovere.library.emory.edu
The main library catalog, discoverE contains all the content of EUCLID (the old-style library catalog), additional resources not listed in EUCLID, and a separate tab to search for articles.

WorldCat
http://pid.emory.edu/rwffp
WorldCat lists library books and other materials not just in the U.S. but in many countries. In addition to the subscription database version (above), there is also a free version that can be accessed publicly at www.worldcat.org.

Databases @ Emory
http://web.library.emory.edu/databases/
A full list of the online databases to which the library subscribes.  Search inside the individual databases for journal articles (many with full text content!), newspaper articles, online collections of literature and primary source materials, and reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. Databases the best place to start for in-depth coverage of journal articles in a specific discipline.

eJournals @ Emory
http://ejournals.emory.edu/
Tells you whether we have a particular journal in the electronic format and which databases have coverage of that journal. Useful if you already have a journal article citation and what to find out whether Emory has online access to it.

Course Reserves
https://ereserves.library.emory.edu
See what books and videos are on reserve for your course and access electronic reserves from here.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322