Skip to main content

IDS 390 - Interdisciplinary Studies Tutorial - SP 2017: Find Articles

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Scholarly journals contain articles written by scholars for scholars. Articles are reviewed by other scholars before they are published.  This is called peer review.  

A scholarly journal article typically has information about authors, an abstract of the article, footnotes/bibliography and perhaps extensive statistics or charts. Authors provide a review of the literature on the subject.

Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" journals.

American Sociological Review sample issue, Dec. 2012

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Subject-Specific Databases

As an interdisciplinary researcher, when trying to find scholarly articles you should consider how the questions you want to answer have been approached by existing disciplines such as philosophy, anthropology, sociology, literary studies, ethics and policy studies, film and media studies, etc. Thus an important starting point should be subject-specific databases. You may find listings of these at the Databases@Emory page. Select the desired subject from the Find by Subject menu and click Go. This will retrieve a list of library databases for that subject, often with the top recommendations listed first.

Multi-Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete 
Research Library Galileo Edition 
Two databases that cover both scholarly and non-scholarly (i.e. popular) journal articles.

Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles from as early as 1907 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography includes not just languange and literature, but topics such as popular culture or critical theory.

JSTOR
Full text of scholarly articles from the entire historical content of many journals, some dating from the 1800s and earlier. Beware: articles from the most recent years are typically not included.

Project Muse
Access to full text of scholarly journal articles from the 1990s to present.

Web of Science
Despite its name, this database references articles from ALL disciplines including History.  Identify important scholars and works in your area of interest by using Web of Science's CITED REFERENCE SEARCH feature, which identifies sources cited by a relevant author or work that you've already identified. 

 

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322