Banner Image

PSYC 200: Experimental Methods, Spring 2014 - Barber: Finding Supporting Research

PsycINFO Alerts

How to Set Up Search Alerts in PsycINFO                                                                            

1.Open the PsycINFO database.

2.On the main search page, go to the upper right corner and select Sign in.

3.On the left side of the page, select Create a New Account.

4.Fill out the information and select, Save Changes.

5.You will be directed back to the search page. Conduct a PsycINFO search using the search terms that you want to use for your alert.

6.On the Search Results listing page, select the option at the top right corner of the results,  Share.

7.Under Create an alert, select E-mail Alert.

8.Beside E-mail to, type in your email address.

9.Adjust the General Settings for Frequency, Results format, and Articles published within the last

10.Select the Save Alert button.

Questions About Your Research Process - #1

While doing research for a class assignment, have you ever paid for an aricle that you found online?

Questions About Your Research Process - #1
Finding Research Articles

Use databases to find scholarly journal articles. Some recommended databases for this class are:

PsycINFO
Offers many types of scholarly research articles including literature reviews and empirical articles from peer-reviewed psychology journals.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Includes scholarly articles from psychology and other behavioral sciences journals.

Web of Science

Contains scholarly literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes ability to do cited reference searches (whose article has been cited by whom, and how many times).

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

A comprehensive database for education research. Offered via four different interfaces:

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

Find articles@Emory using GoogleScholar
Questions About Your Research Process - #2

How often to you use Google to find books or articles for class assignments?

Questions About Your Research Process - #2
Social Sciences Librarian
Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
Questions About Your Research Process - #3

Have you ever used Google Scholar to find articles?

Questions About Your Research Process - #3
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322