The Cornell University Library has a great tutorial on the Web of Science that explains basic through advanced search techniques.
Michigan State University Libraries explain the differences between PubMed, Web of Science, and Google Scholar to help you decide which tool to use.
How to Set Up Search Alerts in PsycINFO
1.Open the PsycINFO database.
2.On the main search page, go to the upper right corner and select Sign in.
3.On the left side of the page, select Create a New Account.
4.Fill out the information and select, Save Changes.
5.You will be directed back to the search page. Conduct a PsycINFO search using the search terms that you want to use for your alert.
6.On the Search Results listing page, select the option at the top right corner of the results, Share.
7.Under Create an alert, select E-mail Alert.
8.Beside E-mail to, type in your email address.
9.Adjust the General Settings for Frequency, Results format, and Articles published within the last…
10.Select the Save Alert button.
Use databases to find scholarly journal articles. Some recommended databases for this class are:
**PsycINFO - Recommended by Professor Kazama
Offers many types of scholarly research articles including literature reviews and empirical articles from peer-reviewed psychology journals.
Includes scholarly articles from psychology and other behavioral sciences journals.
PsycARTICLES offers full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and other reputable publishers of psychology journals.
**PubMed - Recommended by Professor Kazama
A service of the National Library of Medicine and includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
**Web of Science - Recommended by Professor Kazama
Contains scholarly literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes ability to do cited reference searches (whose article has been cited by whom, and how many times). For Web of Science search tips, see the upper left box on this page.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
A comprehensive database for education research. Offered via four different interfaces:
When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.
Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)
Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)
Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)
Warning: Using Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles at the Emory Libraries may yield inaccurate results. We have recently had technical difficulties with Google Scholar being unable to find Emory resources in its search results. If you use Google Scholar in your research, you should also use subject specific databases such as PsycINFO and other recommended databases in the middle box on this page.