Skip to main content

Political Science Research Guide: Scholarly/Academic Articles in the field

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory sources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

TIPS for using Google Scholar

New! From GoogleScholar: Copy-and-paste formatted citations from search results.

Does APA, MLA and Chicago styles as of 11/2012.

DiscoverE for articles

You can search through multiple databases using DiscoverE as well.  For political science, use the "Social Sciences" or "multidisciplinary" from the list of available "quicksets."  Please note however that these searches are NOT comprehensive.  For more refined and powerful searches and more databases, please go to Databases@Emory, or look to the right for suggested databases and search within their native interfaces.

A few suggestions are provided below:

Begin by clicking on the 'Articles' tab above the search box.

* SEARCHING

Enter your search terms.

You can combine terms with AND, OR, and NOT.  See discoverE's help page for more information.

Use the 'Advanced Search' link to combine authors, titles, and subjects with subject databases.

* DATABASES

discoverE defaults to searching 'Academic Search Complete', a broad multidisciplinary database.

To search specific resources or specific subject databases, use the drop-down menu.

* RESULTS

You can sort your results by relevance, date (newest first), and by popularity.

Use discoverE's 'Refine My Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search by topic, author, date.

* FULL-TEXT

Many articles will have a "Full Text Available' link that will allow you to obtain the article.  Click on it.  You should also click on the 'No Full Text' links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.

Key Databases

The principal database for scholarly research in political science is: 

Political Science Complete

Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

Academic Search Complete  (1984-present for indexing and abstracts, 1990-present for full text, some publications 1960s and 1970s are included.)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.
PAIS International (1915-present)
Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915-present. Be sure to choose both the archive and the current index.  Types of publications indexed include books, periodicals and selected local, state, national and international government documents.  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Web of Science
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases. Good for determining who has cited whom. Be sure to declick the options for "Arts and Humanities" and "Sciences."  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
JSTOR
Huge set of full-text backfiles of major journals in the social sciences (and other disciplines).  Note that most journals in JSTOR are subject to a moving wall (i.e., more recent volumes/issues are not available).

You may also wish to try . . .

 

Specialized Databases

 

    Other Databases of Interest (Note: NOT all of these databases include scholarly journal articles.  Many have working papers, policy reports, reviews, etc.)

 

  • Absees Online (1956-present)
    Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, etc.
  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
    Publishes a wide range of scholarship, dating from 1991 forward, that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. New material is added to each section of CIAO on a regular basis. Working papers are augmented every month, as are conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators.
  • CQ Electronic Library & Political Reference Suite
    CQ Weekly, an online full-text version of the printed CQ Weekly Report which provides authoritative, non-partisan information on congressional activity including legislative voting analysis.
    CQ Researcher, a weekly that summarizes the most current and controversial issues of the day.
    CQ Voting and Elections,provides electoral statistics and analysis for elections at the state and federal levels
    CQ Congressional,
    an integrated Congressional database which includes numerous encyclopedic entries, legislative entries, legislative policy, histories, statistics, chronologies, biography, electoral records, data, maps, etc.
    CQ Statistical Databases-
    -separates out the statistical components of the other CQ datbases allowing you to perform analysis on supreme court justices, key votes in Congress, election results, etc
    CQ Supreme Court Collection, offers historical analysis and commentary on decisions plus biographical information on justices.
    CQ Public Affairs Collection, public policy information organized by key topics
    CQ Insider, public policy contact information
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports
    Country Reports analyze political and economic trends in nearly 200 countries. The reports also provide you with basic economic, political, and social data for the country in question. The country reports are frequently updated to reflect political, social, and economic changes affecting the country
  • LexisNexis Congressional
    An online, full text legislative and regulatory service, published by Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS), a leading international publisher of reference, research, and current awareness information products based on information produced by the U.S. government and related information.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322