Skip to main content

PSYC 205: Child Development, STROCK -- Fall 2018

Use Databases to Find Journal Articles

TRY THESE FIRST:

PsycINFO
Scholarly and empirical articles from peer-reviewed psychology journals.

*Tutorial on how to find peer-reviewed, empirical articles in PsycINFO

PsycINFO Search Tips

PubMed

A service of the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.

THEN TRY:

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Scholarly articles from psychology and other behavioral science journals. Note: Select databases, then select the databases that you would like to search from the list provided.

Web of Science
Scholarly articles from all disciplines.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Covers journals in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

PubMed

A service of the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.

Medline

Indexes journals in the fields of medicine/health sciences.  Build your searches as you would in PsycINFO.

 

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
The most comprehensive database for education research and information.

ERIC (EbscoHost)

ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)

 

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals.

Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly literature (journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers) in sociology and related disciplines.

Google Scholar
Provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides direct linking to Emory Libraries' holdings.

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322