Skip to main content

Zotero

Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's free and easy to use.

Create a Reference from a PDF

You can drag and drop PDFs into your Zotero library, then right click and choose "Retrieve metadata from PDF". If the PDF is publisher-created and contains metadata, Zotero will create a reference from the PDF and attach the PDF to the reference.

Note: To try this feature you will need to enable full text indexing of PDFs by installing the PDF indexer.

Collecting References: Books and Articles

Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including Emory's discoverE Catalog tab) and databases, and even some regular web pages, with one click.

If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or a site like Amazon.com or the New York Times, you'll see a book or page icon appear at the top right of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation.

If you're on a page of search results with many items, you'll see a folder icon instead. Click this to get a list of all the items on the page, and check off the ones you want to save.

To save multiple items from a discoverE (the library catalog) search, use the Zotero "folder" icon:


To save a single item from discoverE, click the "book" icon.
 


Save an individual article in a database by using the "page" icon:

 

Add a Reference Using ISBN, DOI or PMID Number

Zotero can add a reference from an ISBN, DOI or PMID number. Click on the "wand" icon and type the number into the box. Hit enter. If Zotero can find a matching number it will download a reference.

Collecting References -- Web Sites

Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from some web pages, but you can still add them to your Zotero library.

Click the blue page icon to save a record of the page, a link to the page, and a "snapshot." A snapshot is a copy of the page saved. It includes the page's text and images, so if the page is removed later you'll still be able to refer to it. Snapshots of web pages become searchable items in your Zotero library.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322