Skip to main content

Zotero

Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's free and easy to use.

Creating Your Bibliography: Straight From Zotero

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library:

  1. Select the references (or a complete collection) you want to include. 
  2. Right-click the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
  3. Choose the bibliographic style you want, and select the output format.


Or you can just drag and drop references from Zotero into your document! They'll turn into fully formatted citations. This works with any word processor including Google Docs.

Creating Your Bibliography: While You Write

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice (aka LibreOffice). The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, put your cursor where you want it to go, and click the "Add/Edit Citation" button on the toolbar. Select the reference you want to cite and click OK.

At the end of your paper, click the "Add/Edit Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and any new citations you add will be added to the bibliography automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.

Create an Annotated Bibliography

 

There are currently 2 annotated styles available from the Zotero Style Repository, Chicago and APA.

For the Chicago Annotated style, you put the annotation in the "EXTRA" field in the Zotero record (see screenshots below).

For the APA Annotated style, you put the annotation in the "ABSTRACT" field in the Zotero.

 

Here are the steps for creating an annotated bibliography in Chicago style.

First, annotate the reference in Zotero.

Select the references you want for the bibliography

Export the bibliography from Zotero using the Chicago Annotated style.

Here is the bibliography with annotations.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322