Skip to main content

EndNote: Creating Bibliographies

EndNote is a database program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing.

Inserting References Into Word Documents

Place your cursor in your Word file exactly where you want the citation to appear. Click the Insert Citations button on the EndNote toolbar in Word and enter a keyword to locate your citation, then click Insert. The default in EndNote is Cite While You Write, which means your citation will be formatted and a bibliography generated automatically.Each time you add another citation, EndNote will re-generate the bibliography to add the new reference.

Here's what the Word Mac 2011 toolbar looks like

EndNote cite while you write Toolbar Mac
(Image from: 
http://www.eui.eu/ServicesAndAdmin/ComputingService/Software/TutorEndNote.aspx)

Here's what the Windows Word 2010 toolbar looks like:

EndNote Toolbar Windows

Cite While You Write in Open Office

Adding multiple bibliographies to a word document using Endnote

Adding multiple bibliographies to a word document using Endnote

See this excellent page from Western Sydney University: 

http://uws.au.libanswers.com/faq/40046

Bibliography videos from EndNote

Cite While you Write with Apple Pages 5

Cite While You Write in Apple Pages

Using EndNote in Lengthy Word Documents

EndNote: Combining multiple Word documents that have EndNote citations.

See this detailed explanation from University of Western Australia Library's guide.

Exporting Stand-Alone Bibliographies

Select the references you want to include in your bibliography, then on the EndNote menu, click References / Show Selected References.

On the EndNote menu, click File / Export… then choose a file name. Save as type Rich Text to create a Word-compatible file, or HTML to create a web bibliography.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322