Skip to main content

Educational Studies Research Guide: Articles

Scholarly Sources


Know the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly articles.

Good guides provided by:
University of Arizona
University of Texas at San Antonio

"Scholarly" journal = "Peer-Reviewed" journal = "Refereed" journal

To determine if your article is from a scholarly journal:

  • Go to ulrichsweb.com
  • Search by the exact title of the journal
  • If it says "Refereed: Yes" then it is a scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal

Finding Articles


Databases for Educational Studies Research

Journal articles can be found by searching databases. The following list of databases index articles from key education journals.

 

Try these databases first:

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (1966-date)
The most comprehensive database for education research and information. Includes more than 1.2 million records from journals, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related material.

ERIC (EbscoHost)

ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)

Note: ERIC documents not available online, but that have an "ED" accession number, are available in microfiche.  Our ERIC microfiche files are on Level 1 of Woodruff Library in microfiche drawer #411.


Education Abstracts (1983 - date)
Provides a wide range of coverage on education topics and fields, including articles from about 80 journals that are not indexed by ERIC.


Other databases for finding educational studies articles:

Web of Science
This database searches across three discipline platforms: Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. Before doing a search, you can limit to just Social Sciences (for education-related materials). A highly-regarded database among faculty and scholars. A key database for doing citation searches (searching for articles that cite a certain author/article).

Sociological Abstracts (1952 - date)
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related fields (including education). Covers almost 2000 journals, plus dissertations, conference papers, and selected books. This is a smaller, more academic database with more foreign language material than SocINDEX (see below).

SocINDEX with Full Text (1895 - date)
Indexes and abstracts over 2500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology & related fields. Includes some popular literature.

JSTOR
Provides the full-text of articles from the backfiles of a vast number of scholarly journals. There are no recent articles in JSTOR (the most current five years). You can limit your search to just education journals.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive multidisciplinary database that provides good coverage of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, books, reports, and government documents. Provides direct links to the full-text of articles in many cases.

Research Library
A comprehensive multidisciplinary database that provides good coverage of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and other sources. Provides direct links to the full-text of articles in many cases.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322