Skip to main content

Educational Studies Research Guide: Statistics & Reports

Other Data Resources


The Electronic Data Center in Woodruff Library (Room 217) can help you:

  • Identify data sources that are relevant, reliable and useful for research in the social sciences and other disciplines.
  • Archive and catalog quantitative and spatial data holdings for convenient user access.

The center also:

  • Provides workstations that provide users with access to statistical and mapping software.
  • Supports the use of quantitative data and geospatial technologies as an integral part of Emory University's teaching curriculum.
  • Provides online and classroom instruction on issues regarding data access and resources, geographic information systems, and other geospatial technologies.

Information from the Web

 

Be sure to evaluate carefully the information you find on the web.  For this class, countries' official government home pages may provide good links to information on their educational systems.

Good examples include:

Australia

England (OFSTED - The Office of Standards in Education)

Mexico (Home page of the nation's Secretary of Education)

 

Other good internet sources for comparative education information and background information:

UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization; of particular interest are the links to national education strategies.

NAFSA Online Guide to Educational Systems around the World

These PDF documents are updates to the 1999 publication A Guide to Educational Systems Around the World (an update to The Handbook on the Placement of Foreign Graduate Students, published in 1990 and colloquially known as the "Graduate Handbook").



Eurydice

Information network on education in Europe; provides education information for European Union countries


World Bank


Human Rights Watch


CIA - The World Factbook

 

Google Scholar
Provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides direct linking to Emory Libraries' holdings.

 

Education Statistics Sources

 

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.   Numerous reports and analysis are included for free on the NCES site.    Here are some useful sections under the NCES

National Assessment of Educational Progress
NAEP provides results on subject-matter achievement, instructional experiences, and school environment for populations of students (e.g., all fourth-graders) and groups within those populations (e.g., female students, Hispanic students). NAEP does not provide scores for individual schools, although state NAEP can report results by selected large urban districts. NAEP results are based on representative samples of students at grades 4, 8, and 12 for the main assessments, or samples of students at ages 9, 13, or 17 years for the long-term trend assessments.

EPE (Editorial Projects in Education) Research Center
The EPE Research Center is a division of Editorial Projects in Education, the non-profit organization that publishes Education Week. The center conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs analyses that appear in the Quality Counts, Technology Counts, and Diplomas Count annual issues of Education Week. The Center also manages the Education Counts database of state policy indicators, releases periodic special reports on a variety of topics, and contributes data and analysis to coverage in Education Week, Teacher Magazine, and edweek.org.

School Data Direct
A place for educators, researchers, and policymakers to access information about public schools. SchoolDataDirect is an online service of the State Education Data Center (SEDC), a new service of the Council of Chief State School Officers, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation as part of the Council's National Education Data Partnership. The SEDC will position itself as a leading voice on public education data and will focus on two work strands: (1) serving as a national advocacy leader for quality education data collection, standards, and use; and (2) serving as the nation's provider of a free, easy-to-use website featuring state education data and analytic tools. 


Statistical Abstract of the United States

Annual publication that includes a wide variety of data from U.S. federal government and other sources. Contains excellent indexing and footnotes. Use to find data and as an index to other data sources.  Print copies also available in Woodruff Library.

International Organizations--Reports and Statistics

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322