Skip to main content

LGBT Studies Research Guide: Finding
Articles

Helpful Resources

There are numerous scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers both current and historical that are great resources for not only LGBT Studies but all disciplines. For help getting started with library resources, try our Library Simplified page.

LGBT Periodical Guide
There are numerous scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers both current and historical that are great resources for LGBT studies. A separate web guide will allow you to browse these materials alphabetically by title.

Electronic Databases to Try First

LGBT Life
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of magazines, journals, books and news sources, and also provides coverage for gray literature such as case studies and speeches. Additionally, LGBT Life includes full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. 

Gender Watch
Full-text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, Gender Watch provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.

Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

 

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

 

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322