The principal database for scholarly research in political science is:
Political Science Complete
Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. Types of publications indexed include books, periodicals and selected local, state, national and international government documents.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
- Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)
Be sure to declick the options for Science and Arts and Humanities Index. Allows you to follow references from one article to the next.
- Sociological Abstracts
This is the principal sociological database. As public policy often turns on issues of sociological concern and study, you may want to consider this database.
- EconLit with Full Text
Econlit is the principal Economics database. Search here for issues relating to economic policy at different governmental levels.
- Google Scholar