Skip to main content

Comparative Politics & Foreign Governments: Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.  Note that to access full text articles by way of Google Scholar, you will need to be connected to Emory libraries.  Therefore, off campus, you will need to locate the database in Databases@Emory (http://web.library.emory.edu/databases). 

Journals of Interest

Use eJournals and EUCLID to locate electronic and print copies, respectively, of these journals:

 

  • Comparative Political Studies
  • Comparative Politics
  • European Journal of Political Research
  • Electoral Studies
  • West European Studies
  • Asia-Europe Studies

General Political Science Databases

The principal database for scholarly research in political science is: 

Political Science Complete

Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

  • PAIS International
    Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. Types of publications indexed include books, periodicals and selected local, state, national and international government documents. 
  • Social Sciences Abstracts (1983-present)
    Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. 
  • Web of Science
    A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases. . Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.  Be sure to declick on the sciences and arts and humanities sections so that you can focus just on the social science articles.

Region-Specific Databases

  • Absees Online (1956-present)
    Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, etc.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies
    A bibliography on Latin America, consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Each year more than 130 academics from around the world choose topics, issues, and articles for inclusion.
  • African Studies
    An exclusive combination of databases providing simultaneous access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322