Banner Image

A Art History Research Guide: Home

Met Artwork of the Day

Loading
Blank

Welcome!

This guide provides an overview of tools and basic strategies for conducting library research in Art History.

Please also take a look at the Digital Art History guide.

Table of Content for this Research Guide

Best Bets

Other Online Art History resources

Ancient  

See the Ancient Art web guide

DYABOLA
Sachkataloge des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts

Contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world.  Based on the superb Archäologische Bibliographie this database is a true devil to search. Refer to the DYABOLA search tips for help

Annee Philologique An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.

 

The Beazley Archive
The Beazley Archive at the University of Oxford has placed online a Dictionary containing "illustrated descriptions of characters from Greek myth, art and architectural terms, also maps and place names.

Classics and Mediterranean Archaeology

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
An illustrated catalog of more than 100,000 ancient vases. Users can search or browse by country or museum and do advance searches by fabric, shape or technique.

PERSEUS Digital Library  The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world....The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging across a much large time span.

Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae Project



Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque

 

International Medieval Bibliography The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Indexing begins in 1967 and the database regularly covers some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues).

IIter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance   indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

Vatican Library (Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana)



Modern

  Inventories of American Painting and Sculpture Catalog

Non-Western

 

Links to WWW sites related to African art .

Caribbean Abstracts
Abstracts in English of selected books and articles in the humanities and social sciences published since 1989

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of monographs and periodical articles pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970 to present HAPI is the major index to periodical articles about Latin America and the Caribbean.



Other related internet sites

 

WWW Gateways and Guides
Art Resources
ArtSource
Mother of All Art History Link Pages (University of Michigan)

Associations, Institutes and Organizations
Art Libraries of North America ARLIS/NA
College Art Association, CAA
IFLA International Directory of Art Libraries
Visual Resources Association

Some Specialized Sites
ADAM: an information gateway to quality-assured resources on the internet in art, design, architecture & media
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (This system is free, but requires the individual user to register.)
Dictionary of Art Historians
Getty Provenance Index
Museum and Gallery Sites on the Web

Subject Guide

Kim Collins
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322