TRY Credo Reference Unlimited and Reference Universe
The following list is a sampling of possible sources for getting
started with locating background information and building a search
vocabulary. One good way to locate additional sources is to browse
titles in the same general area and call number range, both in the
Reference collection and in the Stacks.
These resources are located on Level 2 of the Woodruff Library and cannot be checked out.
Greece and Roman
- L'Année philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latine
REFERENCE Z7016 .A55
An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and
Roman studies. Covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures,
history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science,
numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BCE
to CE 800.
- Atlas of classical archaeology
REF-ATLAS G1046 .E15 A8 1977
Arranged by region, then broken down by city. Contains black &
white photos, maps and diagrams, in addition to a chronology of events,
a glossary, and an index.
- Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world******
REFERENCE DE5 .B7 2002 (4 vols.)
English translation of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, an update of
the academic standard Paulys Real-encyclopädie der classischen
Altertumswissenschaft. This interdisciplinary work provides easy,
direct access to names, places, dates, and objects from all areas of
Greek and Roman culture.
- Cassell dictionary of classical mythology
REFERENCE BL715 .M37 1998
Information on the people, places, gods, and creatures of classical
mythology, with black and white illustrations, maps, genealogical
tables, and a bibliography.
- Civilization of the ancient Mediterranean : Greece and Rome
REFERENCE DE59 .C55 1988 (3 vols.)
Includes a chronological table, maps, and an index. Vol. 1 covers
history, population (race, migration patterns, languages), agriculture,
and government (law, war), among other subjects. Vol. 2 covers
economics (trade, taxation), religion, private and social life
(education, athletics, sex), among other subjects. Vol. 3 covers women
and family life (marriage, birth control), literary and performing
arts, philosophy, and the visual arts.
- The Classical world bibliography of Greek and Roman history
REFERENCE Z6207 .G7 C58 1978
Reprinted articles from The Classical Weekly, arranged topically, this
work contains surveys of the "major" historians of the classical world
(Herodotus, Thucydides, Livy, Tacitus, Caesar) and annotated
bibliographies on Philo Judaeus and Josephus, Alexander the Great, and
Julian the Apostate.
- Dictionary of classical mythology, symbols, attributes, & associations
REFERENCE BL715 .B44 1982
With over 1000 entries, this work is arranged by four subjects: 1)
symbols, attributes, and associations, 2) surnames, epithets, and
patronymics, 3) heroic expeditions, and 4) a guide to persona (index).
- A genealogical chart of Greek mythology
REFERENCE BL785 .N44 2003
This oversize book contains a master chart, comprising 3,673 named
figures of Greek mythology, all related to each other within a single
family of 20 generations. Contains citations to the ancient source.
- Illustrated encyclopedia of the classical world
REFERENCE DE5 .I55
Presents general information on the classical world, with sections on
science, philosophy, literature, and social and religious life. Also
contains cross-references, a chronology of rulers, black and white maps
and illustrations, color plates, and bibliographies at the end of
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
REFERENCE NX650 .M9 L48
Alphabetically arranged articles on individual Greek, Roman and Etruscan mythology.
LIMC - Internet Bibliography (http://www.rzuser.uni-heidelberg.de/)
- The New Century handbook of classical geography
REFERENCE DE25 .N48
With brief essays for each entry, this handbook incorporates both fact
and legend about the cities, mountains, rivers, and islands of the
classical world, and includes a few basic maps.
- The Oxford classical dictionary
REF-DESK DE5 .O9 1996
Covers interdisciplinary concepts in the classical world such as law,
history, art and literature, put together by an international team of
- Place-names in classical mythology : Greece
REFERENCE DF16 .B45 1989
Deals with only mythological places, unless the real historical place
had mythological associations. Also contains a chart associating modern
place-names with their ancient locations.
- Who's who in classical mythology
REFERENCE BL715 .G68
Biographical dictionary, with entries ranging from one sentence to
multiple pages in length. Contains maps, genealogical trees, and
- Who's who in the Greek world
REFERENCE DE7 .H39 2000
This biographical dictionary features entries only on real people (no
mythological figures), and includes a glossary, chronology, list of
rulers, and black and white maps.
- AEB: Annual Egyptological Bibliography
REFERENCE Z3656 .A2 A6 1999
The AEB (Annual Egyptological Bibliography.is published by the
International Association of Egyptologists in cooperation with the
Netherlands Institute for the Near East.)
Print and CD-ROM – Pitts Theology Library
- Lexikon der Ägyptologie
REFERENCE DT58 .L49 1975 V.1 –V.6
Thisdictionary features entries only on many aspects of Ancient Egypt.
While many articles are written in German (with a few French),
approximately one third of the entries are written in English.
- The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Egypt
REFERENCE DT58 .O94 2001 V.1 – 3