Skip to main content

A Art History Research Guide: Ancient Americas, Islam, and Asia

Getting Started

REF F1218.6 .A73 2001

Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America : an encyclopedia / Susan Toby Evans, David L. Webster, editors. New York : Garland Pub., 2001

 

REF F1218.6 .O95 2001 V.1-3
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America
Carrasco, David.

 

REF F1219 .B932 1996
Encyclopedia of ancient Mesoamerica
Bunson, Margaret.

MesoWeb

Mesoweb is devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and adjacent Central America, including the Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec, and Maya (reserving the word Mayan for the language and the word Maya for the people and their culture).

Selected INTERNET Resources

SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES:

 The Sport of Life and Death: The Mesoamerican Ballgame

Altar Q and Copan

Copan Museum by Barbara W. and William L. Fash

FAMSI: Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies,  created in 1993 to foster increased understanding of ancient Mesoamerican cultures. The website provides searchable access to the Barbara & Justin Kerr Photographic Collection, the Linda & David Schele Image Collection, the John Montgomery Drawing Collection, and the Bibliografía Mesoamericana.

·         John Montgomery Drawing Collection

·         Linda Schele Drawings

·         Maya Vase Database (Justin Kerr)

·         A PreColumbian Portfolio (Justin Kerr)

·         Maya Hieroglyphic Writing

Mesoweb: An Exploration of Mesoamerican Cultures (Precolumbian Art Research Institute) extensive website devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and Central America, including the Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec and Maya cultures.  Includes searchable databeses, links to articles and images as well as interactive web resrources.

·         Merle Green Robertson's Rubbings of Maya Sculpture

Hieroglyphs and History at Copan by David Stuart (Peabody Museum, Harvard University)

La Milpa Archaeological Project (Boston University)

Maya Archaeology - FLAAR (Bowling Green State University)

Maya Cosmos (California State University, Hayward)

Maya Hieroglyphic Database Project (University of California, Davis)

Mayan Art: Vase Painting and Copan Sculpture

The Mayan Languages (University of Southern Denmark)

MayaRuins.com (Barbara McKenzie)

UT-LANIC Anthropology & Archaeology Links (Latin American Network Information Center, University of Texas at Austin)

Mesoamerican Photo Archives. The site provides acces to over 100 photpographs and information about 11 archaeological sites in Mexico.

The Aztec Empire - Online Exhibit from the Guggenheim Museum

 

INCAS

The Incas - Excellent site created  by Maria Rostworowski. Nice Gallery section on Inca monuments and the arts.

Andean Archaeology (Columbia University).

Arqueología del Perú (NAyA, ciudad virtual de antropología y arqueología)

Culturas Preincas (Peru.com)

Inca Architecture (Janie i Ric Finch)

Museo Virtual de la Arqueología del Perú

Perú prehispánico (Centro Cultural Perú Virtual)

Exploring Chavín de Huántar (Stanford University)

Nasca y sus líneas (Red Científica Peruana)

Machu Picchu (Louis H. Albert)

Tumbas reales de Sipán (Red Científica Peruana)

Guamán Poma de Ayala: Primer Nueva Corónica y Buen Gobierno (Kongelige Bibliotek, Copenhague)

Arte precolombino de Colombia (ColArte)

Gold of El Dorado, Colombia (Texas Council for the Humanities Resource Center)

Museo Arqueológico San Miguel de Azapa (MASMA, Universidad de Tarapacá, Xile)

KDBHome The Khipu Database Project (Harvard University)

http://www.anthropology.wisc.edu/salomon/Rapaz/index.html ""The Khipu Patrimony of Rapaz, Peru" a project of Dr. Frank Salomon to study the “Khipu House” and its contents.

Pre-Columbian Textile Arts From Tai Gallery - textiles range in time from 500 BC to 1476, and represent a number of distinctive cultures that existed along the Andes.

William Siegal Galleries - excellent source for images of Pre-Columbian textiles from Peru and other regions.

Project Nasca/Palpa Peru -- 3-D recordings of the geoglyphs of the areas of Nasca, Palpa and San Ignacio.

Libraries & Museums

  • Carlos Pellicar Museum - Tabasco, Mexico (FLAAR)
  • Copan Museum - Copan, Honduras (FLAAR)
  • Dumbarton Oaks Pre-Columbian Studies - Washington D.C.. The Pre-Columbian library collection, founded in 196, includes over 32,000 volumes of rare and important works in the fields of Pre-Columbian art history, anthropology, and archaeology covering the Pre-Columbian and early colonial cultures of Mexico, Central America, and South America.

·         Worldviews: Maya Ceramics from the Palmer Collection at the Hudson Museum - Orono, ME (University of Maine)

·         Jay I. Kislak Foundation Collection of Pre-Columbian Art.  A private nonprofit cultural institution engaged in the collection, conservation, research and interpretation of rare books, manuscripts, maps and indigenous art and cultural artifacts of the Americas.  Part of the collection is also available via the Library of Congress Exploring the Early Americas exhibition.

·         Latin American Library of the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library - New Orleans, LA (Tulane University)

o    Maya Area, 1000 B.C.-1 A.D.

o    Maya Area, 1-500 A.D.

o    Maya Area, 500-1000 A.D.

o    Maya Area, 1000-1400 A.D.

o    Maya Area, Native Peoples, 1400-1600 A.D.

o    Mesoamerican Gallery

o    Tikal Digital Access Project

FACSIMILES OF MESOAMERICAN CODICES

F1219.56 .M37 1997 FOLIO
Matrícula de tributos, o, Códice de Moctezuma : manuscrito 35-52, Biblioteca Nacional de Antropología del INAH, México
Anders, Ferdinand.

F1219.56 .B74 C63 1994 FOLIO V.1
Codices Egerton o Sánchez Solís y Becker II
British Library. Manuscript. Egerton 2895.


F1219.56 .C57 C635 1994 FOLIO V.1
Códice Fejérváry-Mayer
Anders, Ferdinand.


F1219.56 .C72 C62 1994 FOLIO V.1
Códice Cospi
Jansen, Maarten E. R. G. N. (Maarten Evert Reinoud Gerard Nicolaas), 1952-


F1219.56 .C6247 C644 1994 FOLIO V.1
Códice Laud
Jansen, Maarten E. R. G. N. (Maarten Evert Reinoud Gerard Nicolaas), 1952-


F1219.56 .B65 C63 1993 FOLIO V.1
Códice Borgia
Anders, Ferdinand.


F1219.56 .C633 C634 1993 FOLIO V.1
Códice Vaticano B.3773
Anders, Ferdinand.


F1219.56 .C636 C63 1992 FOLIO V.1
Códice Vindobonensis Mexicanus 1
Anders, Ferdinand.


F1219.56 .C62532 A53 1992 FOLIO
Códice Zouche-Nuttall
Anders, Ferdinand. Crónica mixteca.


F1219 .C638 1991 FOLIO V.1
Códice borbónico
Anders, Ferdinand.

 

F1219 .C64 1974 FOLIO
Codex Borbonicus, Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée nationale, Paris (Y 120) : vollständige Faksimile-Ausgabe des Codex im Originalformat
Nowotny, Karl Anton, 1904-1978

 

F1219.56 .C7486 S77 1995 FOLIO
El Códice de Xicotepec : estudio e interpretación
Stresser-Péan, Guy.

 

Codices on the WEB

INTERNET RESOUORCES FOR SELECTED MAYA AND AZTEC CODICES

 

Maya Codices The Site offers basic information, links to commentaries,  and images of  the four Mayan codices.

 

Huexotzinco Codex, 1531 On online facsimile from the Library of Congress.

 

Manuscripts & Codices from the Latin American Collection at Tulane University.

 

Aztec Codices at the University of Utah Library. Contains digitized images of Codex Laud and  Codex Magliabecchi 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322