Skip to main content

A Art History Research Guide: Medieval to Baroque Europe

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.

Art Source (formerly Art Full Text) and Art Index Retrospective Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

Bibliography of the History of Art-- search both BHA (1975-2007) and IBA-International Bibliography of Art (2008-present)
Covering European art from post-classical times to the present and American art from post-Columbian times to the present

International Medieval Bibliography The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700


JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text access to back files of key scholarly journals in many fields-
Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History. Art & Art History and Classical Studies


Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is the online version of the print Lexikon des Mittelalters, the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies, published between 1977-1999

Medieval Travel Writing

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale

Patrologia Latina

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

Reference

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art)
 Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art).  Don't forget to review the helpful bibliographies at the end of the signed Grove entries.

N7560 .H34 2008 Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art  by James Hall

N7740 .B2913 2005 Symbols and allegories in art by Matilde Battistini

REF DG537.8 .A1 N48 The New Century Italian Renaissance encyclopedia, Avery, Catherine B.

REF DG463 .D58 V.1-71, Dizionario biografico degli Italiani Alberto Maria Ghisalberti ; Mario Caravale
Roma : Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana 1960-

N6916 .I83 2008 Italian Baroque art / edited by Susan M. Dixon.Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008.

ND616 .P58 1989 V.1- 2 La Pittura in Italia : il Seicento. Mina Gregori ; Erich Schleier Milano : Electa 1989, c1988

N6845 .B59 1981 Art and architecture in France, 1500 to 1700 Anthony Blunt 1907-1983. Harmondsworth, Middlesex ; New York : Penguin Books 1980, c1981

ND806 .B76 Images and ideas in seventeenth-century Spanish painting Brown, Jonathan, 1939-

REF N8010 .S64 1994 The Dent dictionary of symbols in Christian art by Jennifer Speake

N7830 .M87 2001 A dictionary of Christian Art by Peter Murray

NE90 .B213 v.1-166, The illustrated Bartsch  Walter L. Strauss ; Adam von Bartsch 1757-1821. New York : Abaris Books 1978-(Images also available in ARTSTOR)

NE663 .H6 Dutch and Flemish etchings, engravings, and woodcuts, ca. 1450-1700 F. W. H. Hollstein
Pitt's REF  NE663 .H65 The New Hollstein Dutch & Flemish etchings, engravings and woodcuts, 1450-1700 
Ilja M. Veldman ; Ger Luijten ; F. W. H. Hollstein,
Pitt's REF NE651 .H6German engravings, etchings, and woodcuts, ca. 1400-1700 (
F. W. H. Hollstein, Pitt's REF NE651 .H65 A67 The new Hollstein : German engravings, etchings and woodcuts, 1400-1700. Joachim W. Jacoby ; Ger Luijten ; Robert Zijlma ; F. W. H. Hollstein

Italian Renaissance Portal

italianrenaissanceresources.com  A freely available resource, this site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art. Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 300 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts.  This resource is a collaboration between the National Gallery of Art, Washington and Grove Art Online, made possible by the generous support of the Samuel H. Kress Foundation.

Medieval Manuscripts

Thousands of medieval manuscripts have been digitized by libraries around the world; Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts <http://manuscripts.cmrs.ucla.edu/>  is a centralized online archive of thes holdings.

 

Web Sites

Christopher Witcombe's Art History Resources on the Web, Renaissance Art in Italy links

Christopher Witcombe's Art History Resources on the Web, Renaissance Art Outside Italy links

The Michael C. Carlos Museum of Emory University

HIGH MUSEUM OF ART

 

IMAGES

In addition to ARTstor which conatins the entire Illustrated Bartsch [50,000 images of Old Master European prints (engravings, etchings, woodcuts, etc.) from the 15th Century to the early 19th Century.]

 

·         Art in the Christian Tradition, Jean and Alexander Heard/Divinity Library, Vanderbilt University, http://diglib.library.vanderbilt.edu/act-search.pl

·         De bijbel in de Nederlandse cultuur, http://www.bijbelencultuur.nl/

·         Bildarchiv Foto Marburg, http://www.bildindex.de/#|home

·         Imaging the Bible in Wales Database, http://imagingthebible.llgc.org.uk/

·         Index of Christian Art, whose own subject headings are cross-referenced to ICONCLASS numbers

·         Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / National Library of the Netherlands, http://www.kb.nl/manuscripts/

·         http://collecties.meermanno.nl/handschriften/search

·         Rijksbureau voor Kunsthistorische Documentatie (RKD) Database, http://english.rkd.nl/Databases/RKDimages

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322