Skip to main content

Linguistics Research Guide: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can:

  • borrow books and more from other libraries
  • get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Focusing on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing, this database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973-

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography indexes literary criticism and language scholarship. It covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and serials published world wide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. Coverage 1963-

PsycINFO

Updated monthly, PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.

Medline   [EBSCOhost]    [OCLCFirstSearch]

Offered in three different interfaces.  Ovid is recommended.  Indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Contains strong representation of articles related to psychology and medicine.

 

Web of Science

Each citation includes the article's cited reference list, so you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work. Great coverage of the social science and hard science/biomedical literature. Useful for searching topics in sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology.

Anthropology Plus

Indexes key anthropology journals. Useful for searching topics in linguistic anthropology and sociolinguistics.

Coverage: late 1800's to the present

Sociological Abstracts

A much larger database than Anthropology Plus and a great place to search for articles related to sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology.

SocINDEX with Full Text (1895-date)
Indexes and abstracts over 2500 journals, conference papers, and relevant books and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Includes some popular literature. Includes additional full-text for many (but not all) citations. A great place to search for articles related to sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology.

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322