Skip to main content

Jewish Studies Research Guide: Locating Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Databases

 

 

Index to Articles in Jewish Studies (RAMBI) (1966 to present)
Reference Z 6367 .J62

RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research.

 

Index to Hebrew Periodicals (1977 to present)
Indexes articles from Hebrew periodicals, collections and some monographs. Has content in Hebrew and English most of which is not indexed in RAMBI.


Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988 to present)
Reference Z 6367 .I5

An author and subject index to selected English language journals of general and scholarly interest.

Index to Yiddish Periodicals
A bibliographical data base which aims to record the materials published in the Yiddish press. The thematic index in particular allows the browser to reach the wealth of information published in the Yiddish press, especially about Jewish communities in Eastern Europe and abroad, political and cultural Jewish movements, institutions, Yiddish and Hebrew writers and actors, trends in all fields of Jewish Culture. The thematic index registers materials published in the Yiddish press about general subjects as well.

MLA International Bibliography
1963 to presentThe print version (Stacks Z7003 .M6) goes back to 1921 but for the Russian scholar it is of little use before 1959. An annual, from 1921 to 1955 it was limited to writings by Americans on English and western European languages and literatures. In 1956 it began to include writings by scholars from abroad and in 1959 it expanded coverage to include most of the world's languages and literatures including Russian. From its beginning through 1980, the basic arrangement was by langauge/literature subdivided chronologically and, within each time period, by author. It was very hard to search by any subject other than an author's name. In 1981 the bibliography began providing full subject indexing. In the online version of the MLA International Bibliography, the peculiarities of the print version regarding subject searching are perpetuated so that subject searching prior to 1981 is essentially by title keyword or author name.

ATLA Religion Database
1949 to present

An international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion, produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322