Skip to main content

Jewish Studies Research Guide: Religious Texts

Religious Texts

 

Bar Ilan Responsa Project

Includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations. In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Arukh with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc. Also includes Entsiklopedyah Talmudit. This online version has a variety of search options.

 

HebrewBooks

Hebrewbooks.org was founded in order to preserve old American Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation. Many American Rabbis wrote seforim (Hebrew books) in the early part of the 20th century. Currently our mission has expanded to include all Torah Seforim ever printed. At Hebrewbooks.org you will be able to view and print the entire Sefer online.

 

Otzar haHochma

Otzar HaHochma Online is a database of digitized books covering a variety of topics in Jewish Studies.

 

Judaic Classics Library
Reference BM495 .J84 1995

Features a vast full-text library of Biblical, Talmudic, Halachic, and Aggadic literature.

Soncino classics collection
Reference BM495 .S63 2001

The classic works of Judaism: the Talmud, Midrash rabbah, and Zohar are presented on one CD, in the original Hebrew and Aramaic, complete with the authoritative Soncino English translation.

Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud Text Databank issued by the Saul Lieberman Institute of Talmudic Research, JTS.
Reference BM499 2002

Includes textual witnesses of tractates of the Babylonian Talmud including full manuscripts, first printed editions, Cairo Geniza fragments and the Vilna edition.

Torah CD-ROM Library (ha-Taklitor ha-torani )
Reference BS1192 .T67 2001

Includes a huge assortment of classic Jewish texts with complete indexes and concordances. All texts are in Hebrew.

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322