Skip to main content

Biblical Archaeology Research Guide: Locating Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Locating Articles

 

Anthropology Plus (late 19th century to present) Combines Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute). Lists books and articles on archaeology, among other subjects.

Archäologische Bibliographie (1923 to 1994)

Z5132 .A65

This bibliography was prepared by the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut in Rom. Its main organization is topographical, i.e., by place, but it has subject and author indexes. No longer published, it is superseded by DYABOLA which begins with 1956.


Art & Architecture Source  (1929 to present) covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and
commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

ATLA Religion Database (1949 to present) Produced by the American Theological Library Association this extremely useful index covers the field of biblical archaeology very well.

DYABOLA: The Database of the Ancient World (1956 to present) This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. Coverage of biblical archaeology is good. To enter the database check the "activate IP access" box and then click the Start Button. Click on the British flag next to Archäologische Bibliographie.

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary)
Some titles go back to the late 19th Century. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of every issue of over 300 prominent scholarly journals. Archaeology is one of the fields covered. History, economics, political science and other areas are also represented.. Not only is the text of all articles available but every word of every article is searchable. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (1966 to present) Indexing scholarly journals only, RAMBI has good representation of biblical archaeology.

 

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322