Skip to main content

LGBT Studies Microfilm Research Guide: Brazil's Popular Culture

Alphabetical list of materials on microfilm that are available to Emory faculty, staff and students relating to gender, sexuality, and queer studies.

Brazil's Popular Culture Collection

This selective collection of pamphlets, serials, and posters organized by the Rio Office of the Library of Congress, makes accessible to researchers a body of primary materials, mostly non-commercially produced and difficult to acquire and obtain, which is basic to the study of grass-roots political and social movements in Brazil.

The initial collection, Brazil's Popular Groups: 1966 - 1986, was conceived as a means of documenting popular movements which grew during the period of Brazilian military rule (1964 - 1984) and after the inauguration of Brazil's New Republic in 1985. The twenty-year retrospective collection is followed by supplements for 1987-1989, 1990-1992 and annually thereafter. The documentation includes newsletters, house organs, reports, posters, collections of clippings, brochures, resolutions of congresses, educational manuals, independent news services, catalogs of publications and handouts. Geographically, all states of Brazil are represented in the collection.

The collection is arranged by subject, with fourteen broad topical groups

 

  • Agrarian Reform and Land Issues
  • Children and Youth
  • Education and Communication
  • Environment and Ecology
  • Ethnic Groups: Blacks
  • Ethnic Groups: Indians
  • Ethnic Groups: Others
  • Homosexual and Bisexual
  • Human and Civil Rights
  • Labor and Laboring Classes
  • Political Parties and Issues
  • Religious Organizations, Ecumenical Groups and Movements
  • Urban Activism
  • Women and Feminists

 

Call No.: Micfilm 4096

 

Reels: 28

 

Online Guide to the Collection: Click Here.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322